Lies My Teacher Told Me
everything your American history textbook got wrong
The bronze screen
100 years of the Latino image in Hollywood [DVD]
Provocateur
images of women and minorities in advertising
Celluloid Indians
Native Americans and film
Culture and the ad
exploring otherness in the world of advertising
Killing us softly 4
advertising's image of women [DVD]
Reel injun
[DVD]
Explore
examples of search terms: speeches, letters, diary or diaries, autobiography, poems,...
or search for a particular person ex. bob dylan or a particular topic ex. protest songs
try Filters/Limiters such as: dates, American Literature, History since 1865, format ex. print book ...
Zinn Resources @ your library
A People's History of the United States by ISBN: 9780061965586
- Howard Zinn: The People’s Historian SeriesOnline Video: Six-part collection features conversation with Howard Zinn, historian and shipyard worker, civil rights activist and author
Readings from Voices of a People's History of the United StatesISBN: 9781583227527CD / sound recording
Streaming films @ your library
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Offers streaming films ranging from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. *Note: we are currently experiencing issues with video display in VDI. Please access videos outside the virtual desktop.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College.
Sample streaming video titles
- Ethnic Notions Films on Demand
- Blackfaced Stereotyping, 1933 Films on Demand
- Illegal immigration, 1935 Films on Demand
- Howard Zinn: The People’s Historian Series Films on Demand Online Video: Six-part collection features 9 hours of conversation with Howard Zinn, historian and shipyard worker, civil rights activist and author of the hugely successful A People’s History of the United States.
Credo
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThese e-books can help you with terms or placing in historical context
Quick History Article Search in Academic Search, History Ref Center, and MasterFile
More Databases
- ArtStor (ArtStor) This link opens in a new windowSubject Areas: Art, Graphic Arts, Architecture. ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.6 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
Find primary source periodicals - magazines and newspapers
The Truax Library has a small collection of some historical backfiles of print magazines:
- Look: 1963-10/71
- Life: 1963-1972. 1985-5/00
- Current History: 1970-1999
- Foreign Affairs: 1970-
- National Geographic: 1960-1969 1971-1978 1980 to present
- Time: 1970- present
- Vital Speeches of the Day: from 10/15/65-- (volumes 33 and 42 are missing) to Current year
Some other sources to check:
- Christian Science Monitor ArchiveFind articles from 1908 to 1980; Use Interlibrary Loan, rather than purchasing copies online.
- Chronicling America - The Library of CongressSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963
- Google Book SearchIncludes book and magazine content. Some as full view, some as partial access. If you do an advanced search, you can limit your search by date and type of content. Not printable, but you can read the issues on screen.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition - World CollectionProquest database available through Badgerlink. Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Newspaper Source Plus - Proquestaccess provided through Badgerlink
- Time Magazine ArchiveFind Time articles since 1923. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles, rather than purchasing copies online.
