Fashion Marketing: Books

From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.

An essential primer for students and first-stop reference for professionals, "The Fashion Design Reference & Specification Book "takes the fashion designer through the entire design process, from conceiving a garment to marketing it. This valuable handbook contains the information and ideas essential to planning and executing fashion projects of every scale and distills them in an easy-to-use format that is compact enough to slip into a tote. Linking six central phases in the cycle of fashion-research, editing, design, construction, connection, and evolution-"The Fashion Design Reference & Specification Book" helps designers develop effective strategies for building a cohesive collection and communicating their vision.

Every fashion collection begins with research. But how do you start? How much should you do? How do you use that research? Fashion Design Research is designed to answer these questions and demystify the process for students. Illustrated throughout with inspirational photographs and images of good practice within student sketchbooks, the book begins with the basics of primary and secondary research sources and shows students how and where to gather information. Chapters on market, fabric, and color research follow before the final chapter shows how to gather all the information together, understand it, and use it in a process known as triangulation. Additionally, case studies from a wide range of international designers showcase different working methods. By offering a clear approach to research for fashion design, this book will inspire students to embrace an activity that is both fun and fruitful.

Marketing and branding inform many of the strategic and creative decisions involved in fashion design and product development. Marketing is a vital component of the industry and an understanding of its importance and role is essential for those planning a career in fashion. Marketing Fashion, Second Edition is a practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from developing brand identity to creating a customer profile. The book explains key theoretical concepts and illustrates how they are applied within the global fashion and retail industry, from haute couture to the mass market. All tools in the modern marketer's kit are discussed, from attending fashion fairs to viral marketing and online strategies. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile, and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns. The book is designed to appeal to students at degree or foundation level as well as those contemplating a career within the fashion industry.

How can you create meaningful connections with customers in the digital space?  The rapid emergence of new technologies has revolutionized the way companies build relationships and interact with their customers. Today, it's more important than ever to have an emotional understanding of customers and how they feel about a product, service, or business, even when your primary interactions are via digital channels.  Affected goes beyond influencing behaviors to understanding cognition and emotion as a way to better connect with customers in the digital space. In it, Wrigley and Straker offer a new approach--one that examines channel relationships and useful concepts for clarifying and refining the emotional meaning behind company strategy and their relationship to corresponding channels. Using case study examples from and over a decade of primary research in the area, they discuss the process and impact of such emotionally aware channel designs. Spanning entrepreneurial start-up techniques of wunderkind artist Cj Hendry through to the lucrative retail sector of luxury brand Burberry, this seminal book offers multi-channel design approach that can show companies how to select, design, and maintain digital engagements based on their strategy and industry needs. Shows businesses how they can better understand and engage with customers digitally Demonstrates how to gain competitive advantage by integrating design methods into corporate strategy Provides multi-channel approaches for how businesses can select, design, and maintain digital engagements Establishes a clear framework for analysing and applying the right strategy for your digital engagement                                                                                                Connecting and engaging with customers is pivotal to business success, but in the digital space the old methods just won't cut it. With Affected, you'll find the tools and techniques you need to find your customers where they are.

This book aims to analyze the logics and instruments by which fashion companies create collections, taking into account the variety of companies' characteristics and business models. The collection development process is a critical activity for fashion, that must continuously renew its products, and is subject to increasingly strict time, cost and quality goals. A central theme in the book is the complexity of managing the collection development process, due to the number of operations that must be carried out and the variety of actors involved. In addition, there are outside actors, such as the raw material suppliers or manufacturers, that can participate in the development processes. There must also be interaction between the creative and managerial competences present in the company. For all of these reasons, fashion collection development requires extraordinary coordination and integration abilities. This book is the product of the work and efforts of various authors, from both the academic and professional worlds. It also features numerous examples from the fashion industry. Book jacket.

Focusing on fashion, apparel and retail merchandising, this book starts with an Introduction to the apparel business, then leads on to an examination of marketing, fashion, apparel, and retail merchandising, including costing and procedures and documentation needed for export.This book will be invaluable for all textile and fashion students on both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. It outlines the guideline and basics to the students about the activities of marketing and merchandising in apparel industry.