Environmental Article Feed
Loading ...
Library Resources - Environmental Economics
How to Thrive in the Next Economy by
Are there practical solutions to the many global challenges—climate change, poverty, insufficient healthcare—that threaten our way of life? Author John Thackara has spent a lifetime roving the globe in search of design that serves human needs. In this clear-eyed but ultimately optimistic book, he argues that, in our eagerness to find big technological solutions, we have all too often ignored the astonishing creativity generated when people work together and in harmony with the world around them. Drawing on an inspiring range of examples, from a temple-led water management system in Bali that dates back hundreds of years to an innovative e-bike collective in Vienna, Thackara shows that below the radar of the mainstream media there are global communities creating a replacement economy—one that nurtures the earth and its inhabitants rather than jeopardizing its future—from the ground up. Each chapter is devoted to a concern all humans share—land and water management, housing, what we eat, what we wear, our health, how and why we travel—and demonstrates that it is possible to live a rich and fulfilling life based on stewardship rather than exploitation of the natural environment.
Call Number: 338.927 T363 (Portage)ISBN: 9780500518083Publication Date: 2015-11-09
World on the Edge by
We are in a race between political and natural tipping points. Can we close coal-fired power plants fast enough to save the Greenland ice sheet and avoid catastrophic sea level rise? Can we raise water productivity fast enough to halt the depletion of aquifers and avoid water-driven food shortages? Can we cope with peak water and peak oil at the same time? These are some of the issues Lester R. Brown skillfully distills in World on the Edge. Bringing decades of research and analysis into play, he provides the responses needed to reclaim our future.
Call Number: 363.7 B87 (Truax)ISBN: 0393339491Publication Date: 2011-01-06
Post Carbon Reader by
This diverse collection by best-selling authors, renowned scientists, and experienced activists is an engaging and practical book that will be of interest to the lay reader as well as university students in both graduate and undergraduate courses.The expert contributors to The Post Carbon Reader were asked to unflinchingly describe the deep and interconnected sustainability crises confronting humanity in the 21st century-and then give readers concrete steps for addressing those crises.This unprecedented collection of writings (34 essays, 4 previously published) is an honest, informed and engaging exploration of the most challenging issues of our time. It includes chapters by best-selling authors like climate activist Bill McKibben, renowned scholars like ecological footprint" co-founder William Rees, and up-and-coming experts like urban food systems pioneer Erika Allen. Lead editor Richard Heinberg is the world's leading author of mass-market books on fossil fuel dependence and depletion. Heinberg says, "We've run out of time, natural resources and capital, so this is our only chance to get things right.""
Call Number: 338.927 P857 (Truax)ISBN: 0970950063Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Bridge at the Edge of the World by
How serious are the threats to our environment? Here is one measure of the problem: if we continue to do exactly what we are doing, with no growth in the human population or the world economy, the world in the latter part of this century will be unfit to live in. Of course human activities are not holding at current levels--they are accelerating, dramatically--and so, too, is the pace of climate disruption, biotic impoverishment, and toxification. In this book Gus Speth, author of Red Sky at Morning and a widely respected environmentalist, begins with the observation that the environmental community has grown in strength and sophistication, but the environment has continued to decline, to the point that we are now at the edge of catastrophe. Speth contends that this situation is a severe indictment of the economic and political system we call modern capitalism. Our vital task is now to change the operating instructions for today’s destructive world economy before it is too late. The book is about how to do that.
Call Number: 333.7 SP752 (Downtown)ISBN: 0300136110Publication Date: 2008-03-28
The Real Wealth of Nations by
Bestselling author Riane Eisler's book The Chalice and the Blade served as inspiration for The Da Vinci Code. In The Real Wealth of Nations, Eisler shows how conventional economic assumptions, measures and policies have led toward instability and economic insanity--and that the most important aspect of economics is actually the human part.The Real Wealth of Nations challenges our presuppositions and dares us to improve our systems as we move toward a framework that meets human needs.Eisler presents a radical reformulation of economic priorities focused on caring and giving.
Call Number: 330.126 EI36ISBN: 1576753883Publication Date: 2007-03-28
Environmental Economics by
For the past 25 years, governmental decision-makers have employed the economic approach of benefit-cost analysis for resource allocation decisions. Environmental Economics describes, in a non-technical, readily understandable way, why the actual practice of benefit-cost analysis in environmental settings is heavily biased against the environment. The book provides environmentalists with the tools necessary to show policy-makers that pursuing many policies with apparent costs greater than benefits are, in fact, welfare enhancing.
Call Number: 333.7 G776 (Truax)ISBN: 0742546993Publication Date: 2007-04-09
Paths to a Green World by
This comprehensive and accessible text fills the need for a political economy view of global environmental politics, focusing on the ways key economic processes affect environmental outcomes. It examines the main actors and forces shaping global environmental management, particularly in the developing world. Moving beyond the usual academic emphasis on international agreements and institutions, it strives to integrate debates within the real world of global policy and the academic world of theory. The book maps out an original typology of four contrasting worldviews of environmental change - those of market liberals, institutionalists, bioenvironmentalists, and social greens - and uses these as a framework to examine the links between the global political economy and ecological change. This typology not only helps students understand and participate in debates about these worldviews but also provides a common language for students and instructors to discuss the issues across the social sciences. evolution of global discourse and global environmental governance; wealth, poverty, and consumption; the impact on the environment of global trade and trade agreements; transnational corporations and differential environmental standards; and the environmental effects of international financing, including multilateral lending and aid and bilateral and private finance. Brief, illustrative case studies appear throughout the text.
Call Number: 333.7 C589 (Downtown)ISBN: 0262532719Publication Date: 2005-03-04
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0470061952Publication Date: 2008-12-03
A Dictionary of Environmental History by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1845114620Publication Date: 2013-06-15
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0857938789Publication Date: 2013-07-30
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 041520285XPublication Date: 2001-12-14
Taste the Waste
Senegal: Water Treatment and Distribution
China: Sustainable Homebuilding
Sustainable Communities
Going Green: Real World Solutions for the Environment
Gasland Part 2
A sequel to the documentary Gasland, Gasland, Part II continues filmmaker Josh Fox's exploration of the dangers of the process of natural gas extraction known as hydraulic fracturing, commonly referred to as "fracking", chronicling the spread of the practice further in the U.S. as well as in 32 countries worldwide. 1 DVD, 125 min., HBO Films 2014. Truax Library, 622.18285 G248PT DVD
Spill: Frontline
Martin Smith and Abraham Lustgarten explore the corporate history of BP before the 2010 Deepwater Horizon explosion in the Gulf of Mexico. This investigation reveals a history of safety and environmental violations. 1 DVD, 60 minutes. PBS Frontline, 2011. 363.7382 SP756
Bag It
Americans use 60,000 plastic bags every five minutes that we then throw away. But where is 'away?' Where do the bags and other plastics end up, and at what cost to our environment, marine life and human health? Follows 'everyman' Jeb Berrier as he navigates our plastic world. Jeb is not a radical environmentalist, but an average American who decides to take a closer look at our cultural love affair with plastics. 1 DVD, 78 minutes. Docudrama Films, 2010. 363.7288 B144 DVD
Food, Inc. : how industrial food is making us sicker, fatter and poorer -- and what you can do about it
Food, Inc. is guaranteed to shake up our perceptions of what we eat. This powerful documentary deconstructing the corporate food industry in America was hailed by Entertainment Weekly as "more than a terrific movie--it's an important movie." 1 DVD, 338.19 F686W Watertown.PublicAffairs, 2009.
Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Popular News Sources
Not all the content from the sources below will provide stories related to environmental economics, but many of the stories will be on related topics.