Skip to main content

Print Smart: Printing at Madison College: Other Resources

Learn all about printing at Madison College. Also includes tips and tricks to print smart, utilize less paper and make the most of the resources available to you at Madison College.

Google Docs

Google Docs logo

Google Docs is a free resource which allows you to create documents, spreadsheets and presentations which are stored online and always available.

Google Docs is a great way to organize research, notes, class documents and group projects. You can even download the files to your computer in Microsoft Word, Excel or PowerPoint file format. 

Visit Google Docs online to get started today. 

Links

Digital Research Tools Wiki: Links to many useful web tools to help you organize your research. 

Google Chrome Web Store: Search for downloadable tools for the Google Chrome browser. 

Mozilla Firefox Add-Ons: Search for downloadable add-ons for Mozilla's Firefox browser. 

Student H Drive

Madison College provides all students with their own storage space on the network, referred to as the home directory, or H Drive. The H Drive: 

  • Provides access to your files from basically any computer on or off campus. On campus, the drive is available by clicking "Computer" on the desktop and then selecting the drive with your username. Off campus, your H Drive is accessible by using FileWay.
  • Helps prevent loss of data if the computer you are working on crashes or has a hard disk failure. 
  • Provides added security: Students may use the H Drive to back up data. The files do not get erased until you choose to do so; they are stored on a server, not the local computer you are working on. No one but you can gain access to your files. 
  • Provides students with 150 MB storage. 

PrintFriendly

PrintFriendly

PrintFriendly is an online service which allows you to take the text from any site and create a printer-friendly version. Just copy and paste the URL from the page you'd like to print, and PrintFriendly produces a simple text and images version. It also makes it easy to delete ads or images you would not like to print. Try it today! 

PrintFriendly

One Note

OneNote logo

OneNote is a program which is part of the Microsoft Office suite which allows you to take notes and save them for later- no need to print! The library's computers provide access to OneNote to students. In a document or on a website, navigate to print as usual, but choose "Send to OneNote" under the printer option. The program allows you to save text, images and other content and save the file for later. 

Click HERE for more information about using OneNote. 

Zotero

zotero logo

Zotero is a free downloadable extension for the Mozilla Firefox internet browser which helps you gather and organize your research. You can capture article information from the internet, organize articles into collections and create bibliographies.

It would be useful for students who would like to keep their research organized in one place both during and after their time at Madison College, and is helpful for larger research projects.

Visit Zotero's site for more information.