Skip to main content

Fort Atkinson Library: Research/Instructor Support

Search Our Catalog

 

Find books, DVDs, streaming media, and ebooks in the Madison College Libraries catalog

Madison College Libraries Logo

Locating a Specific Journal

To see if our college has access to a particular journal, click HERE and search by title. If we have access, a link to the appropriate database will be provided. 

Need an article we don't provide access to? Complete our online ILL form. Articles will be emailed to you as a PDF. 

Proctoring Policy

The Madison College Libraries do not provide proctor services. However, we are happy to serve as a location for exam make-ups.

We cannot guarantee students will be supervised taking their exam.

For information about proctoring options, please contact your department. 

Films on Demand

 

What is Films On Demand? 

Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College. 

  • Videos are provided via a web-based interface that's accessible 24/7, on- and off-campus
  • Includes over 6,000 titles from top notch producers such as PBS, BBC, Meridian, National Geographic and more!
  • Features an easy-to-search collection navigable via keyword search or by browsing subject categories
  • Viewable in the classroom or for presentations
  • Instructors may share links through email or integrate films into Blackboard
  • Instructors may combine segments from different videos to create a customized viewing experience
  • Many titles available in close-captioning

 

 Access the videos through the link on the library home page or the link below. If viewing off-campus, enter your username and password when prompted.

Films On Demand logo

 

For more information, visit our Films on Demand research guide. 

Films on Demand: Tips

A few troubleshooting tips for working with Films on Demand in Blackboard:

  • You can provide a link to videos, but you can't host or load them into BB.
  • Do not use the URL displayed in the top address bar of the browser as the link you share. Instead, scroll down beneath the film's viewing box and description to the "Title URL" area- this is the correct URL to use. For more information on using Films On Demand's permalinks, click HERE.
  • To ensure off-campus access, be sure the EZproxy prefix is in front of this URL. i.e.: https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=http://digital.films.com/
  • Make sure when copying the URL that you do not copy any additional spaces at the end of the URL because this may cause problems in BB. 

For more information, see our Films on Demand research guide or our Instructor Support Guide 


Citing Films On Demand

FOD provides the citation formats for videos directly below the video playing window. Just click on the 'Citation' link, choose the appropriate style, and copy and paste the citation.

Screenshot of FOD video with citation link circled

Commonly Used Databases

Commonly Used Databases

 Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost logo

Multi-disciplinary database with full text. Includes many topics such as sciences, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, technology, mathematics, psychology, women's studies and more.

Click HERE to access Academic Search Complete. 

 


Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost logo

Designed specifically for students at two-year colleges, this database provides vocational information as well as articles on many other general topics.

Click HERE to access Associates Programs Source Plus.


CQ Researcher

CQ press logo

An excellent resource for beginning research papers, CQ Researcher provides in-depth articles on current topics. The articles look at all sides of each topic, and also often include a timeline, biblography and other links.

 Click HERE to access CQ Researcher.


JStor

Jstor logo

Provides many excellent academic journal articles; often most useful for history courses.

Click HERE to access JStor


Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost logo

Provides archived articles from over 1,500 newspapers.

Click HERE to access Newspaper Source Plus.


Opposing Viewpoints (GALE)

Gale cengage learning logo

This excellent database is another great resource for research papers; gives the pros and cons on important social issues. Updated frequently.

Click HERE to access Opposing Viewpoints.


 

To browse all of our databases, click HERE.

To access our databases off campus, simply navigate to our homepage, select "Databases" and then "Browse by A to Z List" to see a complete list of what we offer. After selecting a database, users will be prompted to log in with their Madison College user name and password. 

 

Madison College Libraries provide the following forms of instructor support:

Information Literacy Instruction: We are happy to provide information literacy instruction for your classes at the Fort Atkinson campus. For more information, contact librarian Autumn Hall-Tun or complete our online instruction request form

Library Reserves: Instructors may put copies of textbooks, A/V materials or supplementary materials on reserve. Items may be marked for in-library use only, or may be taken out overnight or for longer periods. Stop in the library for more information. 

HOWLER: Our librarians have created this series of multimedia tutorials designed to assist students in learning information literacy and library skills. Check them out today! 

Research Guides: We have created a series of guides on many topics, especially tailored for the instructors, students and specific classes at our college. 

Linking to Library Resources: This guide provides more information on linking to specific resources in our databases, which is particularly useful for integrating content into Blackboard. 

Student Computer Help: If your students struggle with technology, the library is here to help. Click HERE for more information. 

Interlibrary Loan: We provide ILL service for items held at our other campuses, or items from libraries outside of our system. Click HERE to access our online ILL form. 

For Instructors