Madison College Libraries Catalog
Find books, DVDs, streaming media, and ebooks in the Madison College Libraries catalog
Welcome to Sociology!
Sociology is the study of groups and society and how they shape human behavior and thought.
Believe it or not, when you take a sociology course you will learn more about yourself by studying the world around you. Our course topics are likely to delight you, make you angry, give you something to Tweet about or talk about at the dinner table—but most of all they will make you think about the world and help you to see it in new ways.
If you are ready to question everything you currently know and learn about the world through scientific inquiry, then you are going to love sociology. We do!
-The Sociology Faculty
Library Research Databases
- Academic Search CompleteEBSCO database which includes many academic journals such as American Journal of Sociology, Contemporary Sociology, International Review of Sociology, and many more.
- JSTORThis database contains a huge collection of digitized articles from scholarly publications. Titles included as far back as late 1800s up to prior to past 2-5 years.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window Pros and cons on critical social issues. Great place to start your research.
A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for business resources (newspaper, journal, magazine articles).
These databases are available on campus and from home for Madison College students, staff and faculty with an Internet connection.
Databases that may be particularly helpful to sociology research include: