Photography & Historical Photographic Images: Historical Collections

HUGE database of materials, including photographs on many topics including advertising, culture, war, the arts, architecture, and more.

A treasury of online, high-resolution images, including landscapes, parks, environmental images, portraiture, the Mid-Mountain West, and a large collection of World War II photographs.

You can select 'Photography' from the online collection search function.

George Eastman House, an independent nonprofit museum, is an educational institution that tells the story of photography and motion pictures--media that have changed and continue to change our perception of the world.

Online service of the nationally-known commercial, stock photo agency. Site offers a variety of contemporary, fine artwork, historical images and Royalty-free images. Offer simple and advance search features. All images in the catalog are watermarked for copyright protection.

The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else.

Collections include images of jazz, the Civil War, travel, the decades of the 1910s and the 30s and 40s, and Honest Abe.

Many celebrity photos, World War II and other war images, sports thousands of photos of American life throughout the decades of the 20th Century, photo essays, and human interest collections, such as the 'World's Weirdest Beards' and 'Vintage Scandinavia: Midnight Sun'. Life was considered the best source of popular photography for most of the past century.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Mary Evans Picture Library licences images for commercial use in books, newspapers, magazines, adverts, web sites and all manner of other media. Images cover a broad range of topics and subject areas which, although coming under the umbrella classification of history, in fact, extend far beyond most people's perception of historical pictures. The material has traditionally been used in an editorial context to illustrate news stories, magazine articles and the like, but today it is increasi

Includes a timeline and a pictorial essay of the milestones of the history of photography.

The National Photography Collection is best regarded as a collection of collections, which comprises the Daily Herald Archive, the Royal Photographic Society Collection, and the Kodak Museum Collection, amongst other world-class objects and images. Part of the National Media Museum in Bradford, England, UK.

Search the Smithsonian Collections.

Historical photos on a wide range of topics from Japanese Americans, automobiles, beer hunting, American Indians, doughnuts, schoolgirls, agriculture, horses, and roads. Look for navigation to the right of the intro photograph.

Search or browse one of the nation's most important research collections for historical images of Wisconsin, labor history, Dickey Chappell's war images, the H.H. Bennett Collection, the Highlander Folk School, our Circus past, McCormick-International Harvester, and politics and social/political movements. Consider this an introduction to the vast materials that can be viewed in person at 816 State Street in downtown Madison.