Skip to main content

Banned Books: Books/Database Resources

Banned Books

Madison College Libraries Catalog

Find books, DVDs, streaming media, and ebooks in the Madison College Libraries catalog

Madison College Libraries Logo

Books

Find books by searching on the terms:  banned books, censorship, challenged books, prohibited books

Use the Interlibrary Loan request form to borrow books or articles from other campuses/libraries.

Other Catalogs

WorldCat -- Search library catalogs throughout Wisconsin and the world.

UW-Madison Library Catalog -- The Madison College Libraries have an agreement with the UW-Madison Libraries to provide a borrowing card free of charge to Madison College students. Stop in at any of the Madison College Libraries to learn more and fill out a form. Remember to bring your OneCard.

Finding articles in the Libraries Databases

Find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, etc.  Username and password access required off-campus. 

1.  Access the Madison College Libraries Homepage.

2.  On the Libraries Homepage click on the green "Articles" tab.

Home Page Tabs

3.  Click on "Browse Databases by A to Z list."

4.  Choose EBSCOhost to search multiple databases at the same time.  Choose databases to search by selecting the check box next to the database name (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Humanities International, Literary Reference Center, MasterFile Premier, Newspaper Source Plus, etc.).

5.  Other databases to search include:  JSTOR, LitFinder and Opposing Viewpoints.

6.  JSTOR search example:

 

Hint:  Use "quotes" to search exact title.   

 

Search Credo Reference

Search

-An online reference collection with full-text content from hundreds of reference books.

CREDO-Reference

Topic Page:  Censorship - Credo Reference


Culture Wars book cover

Addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.

Subject Guide

Renee Anhalt
Subjects:Health/Nursing, Law

Library hand-outs