Skip to main content

History: Africa: History of Africa

Madison Area Technical College Libraries Research Guide: History of Africa

New Books - African History

Books: History of Africa

libraries logo

The Madison Area Technical College Libraries Online Catalog provides access to books, magazines, Reserve material, audio-visual material (for example, videos), electronic books and web resources.

Search by subject or keyword.

Most books on Africa and African history will be found in the 900's circulating collection, particulary in the 960's.

Quick search of the catalog:

Other Library catalogs

Key Reference Titles

Atlases / Maps

Additional atlases can be found in the Library Online Catalog including cultural and history atlases of specific areas of the world.

Maps Online

Library Research Databases

Use academic databases to find articles from scholarly and history journals. Full-text titles include  Africa, Journal of African History, International Journal of African Historical Studies, African Studies Quarterly, and others.

News and reference databases may also be useful for your research.

Access from home or work is available for these databases; login using your Madison Area Technical College username and password.

ArtStor

Periodicals

Search for access to a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper in print or online by library subject headings:

Newspapers: Research Databases and Websites

Credo

Websites for History of Africa Research

Subject Guide

BBC News RSS Feed: Africa

Loading

Recent articles on African history

RSS feeds with recent articles from the journals "African Studies Quarterly" and "International Journal of African Historical Studies" in our library databases.

Loading
Loading

History Africa QR Code

qr code history of africa research guide

History Research Guides