Skip to Main Content

English: English 1: Home

Guide for 100 level college English

Image: Banner for English 1 research guide

English 1 at Madison College

The first course in communication skills at the college level, developing student abilities in critical reading, writing, listening, and speaking, for both exposition and argumentation. The course emphasizes summarizing, analyzing, and synthesizing information from sources, and develops research and presentation skills. The class assumes competence in English grammar and paragraph structure.

Get Help!

 

 

Cell phone

 Text Us:
608.554.4659
Envelope Email Us
Telephone Call Us:
Library Help:608.246.6640
Student Technology Help: 608.243.4444
twitter icon Follow Us:
@madcollegelib
thumbs up facebook icon Like Us:
Madison College Libraries

 

Madison College Writing Center

Student Achievement Center logoInstructor talking to student at a computer

English I Library Core Competencies

 In addition to the general information literacy competencies for Madison College Libraries...

The English 1 student will:

  • identify keywords from a topic statement and find synonyms for those keywords
  • differentiate between keyword and subject searching in the Madison College Libraries Catalog
  • be aware of other catalogs and opportunities for retrieving those materials through interlibrary loan
  • know where to look for articles from Madison College Libraries subscription databases
  • know how to choose an appropriate database to conduct research on a topic
  • be able to perform an effective search of a library database
  • know how to access Madison College Libraries subscription databases from off-campus
  • will understand simple Boolean logic and database limiters to efficiently execute search queries
  • be able to scan citations for currency, authority, and related subjects
  • know how to print, e-mail or save full-text documents from subscription databases
  • recognize how to look for full-text of articles when not available in library databases 
  • be able to analyze books, articles, or web sites for authority, bias, and currency
  • determine if the information found meets their information need
  • be aware of citation management tools (e.g. Knightcite) to help create MLA, APA, or Chicago style citations